White & Black (take 5)

20140117-201646.jpg

I usually revisit a visually rich place and try to come up with unique views rather than repeating previous pictures. Other times I try to get closer to what I want to represent in a particular subject.

Looking back over previous attempts at this shot, I saw the versions below as imperfect precursors building up to my latest take on subject that is now very familiar to me. Sometimes it takes a while to zero in on your vision, and finally to find a way to realize it.

One of the first prints I made in this series sold quickly at an auction last year, but a year later I know it wasn’t as good as what I wanted to do with the basic idea. I’m hoping next time out I’ll find a way to improve this same basic theme even further.

Maybe the creative process never really ends, since perfecting even a simple image can only be an unreachable goal?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Hunting Egret

_2230401

Untitled-1

Leave a comment