More on a Theme

Here are a few more images as variations on the previous theme. Same neighborhood on a different day, with different light.

Thanks to thoughtful feedback on my previous post about this type of composition practice, I went out intent to accentuated the color and texture aspects a bit more in this set.

I like the added intensity I got from these for online viewing, but I would probably back off on curve adjustments and vignetting for prints.

I noticed there was a really excellent Magnum Photos publication that Eric Kim linked to in his street photography blog today. It is a quick read, and I highly recommend it for any type of photographer.

One quote from Alex Soth that really resonated with me, as I have been trying to improve my photography, is the following:

Forget about being a photographer. Be a creative person.

Another Magnum photographer amplifies this statement later in the piece.

Learn something else. Photography isn’t that complicated; you can learn to take pictures by yourself. Photography is about life and experience. Put yourself in a position where you take a lot of pictures. Don’t study photography. Don’t think about it too much. Try to experience something and express that experience through photography.

Although there is a lot of information in the article, my take home messages were pretty straight forward. I need to first focus on experiencing life, second to fully enjoy being a creative person, and finally, to take time to share my experiences with others through photography.

Not a bad idea.
Cheers Eric!

One thought on “More on a Theme

  1. Pingback: Photography : An Introduction INayan Hazra Photography -Flashbacks of a Fool

Leave a Reply

