San Pablo Colors

After taking some time to get good OOC B&W images from the OMD EM5 with Zeiss C Sonnar 50/1.5, I’m now taking a closer look at the color profile of this lens/sensor combo.

So far, so good, but JPEGs aren’t quite as good as what I can get from RAW using some post-processing in Aperture and Photoshop.

For comparison, the OOC JPEGs below were generated with the Vivid setting for in camera processing, and +1 for contrast, plus a little level adjust and sharpening in Aperture before posting.

The ones above were worked up from RAW files, with about 5 minutes of custom color toning plus additional NR+sharpening in Photoshop.

The main difference seems to be that even with auto gradation turned on and using a custom tone curve in camera to further preserve the highlights, I had to go to RAW files to recover some of the highs after ETTR. Also, in camera NR and sharpening are just not as good as what I get from Topaz deNoise and both CS5 and Aperture sharpening algorithms.

I’m not sure, but I think I like using this manual focus rangefinder lens better than the autofocus M.Zuiko 60mm f/2.8 ED that was made for the E-M5.

The contrast and bokeh from this CZ glass seems to be a step up from the highly rated micro four-thirds lenses from Olympus, and even the colors seem slightly punchier. Maybe this is from the coatings used? Whatever it is, I like it.

Last but not least, I have to say that I am constantly amazed by the awesome art activity in Oakland. These pics were shot at The Pallet Space, and I think the sculptures are by Trent Nahas. Great stuff, go check it out!

One thought on “San Pablo Colors

  1. Pingback: Using Velvia to break out of a slump | gera fotografija

Leave a Reply

