Mostly about the color

I don’t really look for architectural photography opportunities, but the Bay area was quite colorful this weekend, even outside of San Francisco! And these scenes jumped out at me.

If only I could find a way to get the kind of eye for color and form that Saul Leiter has. I’ve been thinking about his work a lot since I first saw it.

I noticed that he is now a member of IN-PUBLIC. His stuff is timeless. It’s a little hard to believe he’s 85 years old and still going strong.

How he manages to make something out of what seems like nothing is amazing. Here’s an example that stunned me when I first saw it. Not much there, it’s almost an anti-photo, but wow, is it arranged just right.

Saul

Click on the thumbnail above to go to the full-size image on his bio page, and many more examples.

Leave a Reply

