A flock of seagulls – composition practice

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERACoastal storms in Northern California forced more than a thousand birds to take refuge in a local park last week.

I happened to see them on my way back from the library and used them for a bit of impromptu compositional technique practice.

It was difficult to frame decent pictures with sunlight bursting through rapidly moving clouds. This was made even more challenging when the mass of birds started reacting to me as I moved around trying to put recent study of books by Ansel Adams and Axel Brück to good use. I later noticed that these authors rarely mention shooting rapidly moving objects – hmmm?

Overall, I think the 15 or so minutes between showers provided a few captured moments that were worth the effort.

As one more experienced photographer suggested, I am constantly looking for opportunities to keep snapping the shutter.

While keeping at it, I suspect I also need to remember to act mindfully and make every snap mean something. Maybe another few thousand tries and I’ll get one right? At least I can hope it happens eventually.

Leave a Reply

